Jul 22, 2018  
Loyola Marymount University Bulletin 2017-2018 
Loyola Marymount University Bulletin 2017-2018 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Art and Art History

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Degrees and Programs


Chairpersons: Damon Willick (Art History), Garland P. Kirkpatrick (Studio Arts)

Professors: Michael Brodsky, Jane Marie Brucker, Rudolf Fleck, Teresa I. Lenihan, Diane M. Meyer, Teresa Muñoz, Kirstin J. Noreen, Rev. Michael R. Tang, Damon Willick

Associate Professors: Saeri Cho Dobson, Han Dai-Yu, Garland P. Kirkpatrick, Dmitry Kmelnitsky

Assistant Professors: Amanda Herring, Melody N. Rodari


Within the framework of the University’s mission, the Department of Art and Art History is committed to giving students educational opportunities combining creativity, professional, and scholarly study in the visual arts.


The philosophy of the Department rests on the premise that its students should receive a broad education that combines creativity and scholarly study. Two majors are offered, Studio Arts and Art History. The foremost objective is to prepare students intellectually and professionally for a career in Studio Arts and Art History and/or graduate studies. Courses offered to undergraduate majors and non-majors stress the cultural value of the visual arts.


Two majors are offered, Studio Arts and Art History.

Students may also complete a minor.

The Department is a fully accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

Semester Hours

For studio classes, a semester hour of credit, one unit, represents three hours of work each week. In lecture and seminar courses, an hour of credit represents one hour each week in class and two hours of work outside of class.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Degrees and Programs