Aug 18, 2018  
Loyola Marymount University Bulletin 2017-2018 
Loyola Marymount University Bulletin 2017-2018 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Frank R. Seaver College of Science and Engineering


Chairperson: Raymond J. Toal

Professors: Stephanie E. August, John David N. Dionisio, Philip M. Dorin, Raymond J. Toal, Nazmul Ula

Associate Professors: Lei Huang, Barbara E. Marino, Gustavo Vejarano, Jie Xu

Assistant Professors: Hossein Asghari, Andrew Forney

Clinical Professor: Robert W. Johnson

Lecturers: Knosheng Ma, Samprakash Majumdar, Krishnamurthy Narayanaswamy, Garrett Newell


The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science provides both undergraduate and graduate programs in Electrical Engineering and an undergraduate program in Computer Science. The Electrical Engineering programs provide a broad, fundamental education in electronic system design and construction, covering topics in electronics, digital and analog systems, communications, computer architecture, signal processing, and embedded systems. The Computer Science program provides breadth and depth in its coverage of information and computation through courses and laboratories in data structures and algorithms, theory, artificial intelligence, computer and operating systems, computer graphics and user experience, programming languages and translation, database systems, and software engineering.


The mission of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science is to provide high-quality, practice-oriented, design-focused curricula that prepare students for both leadership roles in industry and advanced studies, through a supportive, student-centered education that balances theory and practice and meets the challenges of an ever-changing complex world through dynamic programs with interdisciplinary opportunities.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Frank R. Seaver College of Science and Engineering