Skip to Navigation
    Loyola Marymount University
  Jul 26, 2017
Skip Navigation
Loyola Marymount University Bulletin 2014-2015 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Art and Art History

Return to: College of Communication and Fine Arts


Chairpersons: Kirstin J. Noreen (Art History), Garland P. Kirkpatrick (Studio Arts)

Professors: Michael Brodsky, Jane Marie Brucker, Rudolf Fleck, Teresa Muñoz, Kirstin J. Noreen, Rev. Michael R. Tang

Associate Professors: Saeri Cho Dobson, Han Dai-Yu, Katherine Anne Harper, Garland P. Kirkpatrick, Dmitry Kmelnitsky, Teresa I. Lenihan, Diane M. Meyer, Damon Willick

Clinical Assistant Professors: Amanda Herring, Erik Benjamins


Within the framework of the University’s mission, the Department of Art and Art History is committed to giving students educational opportunities combining creativity, professional, and scholarly study in the visual arts.


The philosophy of the Department rests on the premise that its students should receive a broad education that combines creativity and scholarly study. Two majors are offered, Studio Arts and Art History. The foremost objective is to prepare students intellectually and professionally for a career in Studio Arts and Art History and/or graduate studies. Courses offered to undergraduate majors and non-majors stress the cultural value of the visual arts.


Two majors are offered, Studio Arts and Art History.

Students may also complete a minor.

The Department is a fully accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

Semester Hours

For studio classes, a semester hour of credit, one unit, represents three hours of work each week. In lecture and seminar courses, an hour of credit represents one hour each week in class and two hours of work outside of class.


Return to: College of Communication and Fine Arts